Nine features have been nominated for this year’s AWGIE Awards for performance writing.

Eight telemovies and miniseries are in contention. The Australian Writers’ Guild says nominations in the 25 categories for the 48th Annual AWGIE Awards reflect the abundance of outstanding work currently being produced in Australia.

Nominees for best original telemovie are Steven McGregor for Redfern Now: Promise Me and Katherine Thomson for House of Hancock, while Christopher Lee’s Gallipoli and Jan Sardi and Mac Gudgeon’s The Secret River contend for best adaptation in a television miniseries.

There are four nominees for original television mini-series: The Principal by Alice Addison and Kristen Dunphy; The Kettering Incident by Vicki Madden, Andrew Knight, Cate Shortland and Louise Fox; Deadline Gallipoli by Jacquelin Perske, Stuart Beattie, Shaun Grant and Cate Shortland; and Love Child: Series 2 from Tim Pye, Cathryn Strickland, Chris McCourt, Jane Allen and Tamara Asmar.

In the categories for original and adapted feature films, the nine nominations are: Paper Planes by Robert Connolly and Steve Worland; The Water Diviner by Andrew Knight and Andrew Anastasios; The Little Death by Josh Lawson; Ashby by Tony McNamara; Skin Deep by Monica Zanetti; Sucker by Ben Chessell and Lawrence Leung; Ruben Guthrie by Brendan Cowell; The Last Cab to Darwin by Reg Cribb with Jeremy Sims; and Holding the Man by Tommy Murphy.

This year’s ceremony will be again hosted by the AWG’s Ian Simmons at Doltone House, Hyde Park Sydney on Friday September 11.

The AWG will also award up to $100,000 to the recipients of the 2015 Australian Writers’ Foundation Playwriting Award, supported by Kim Williams, and the David Williamson Prize, given in recognition of excellence in writing for the the theatre.



A Piece of Meat – Ed Blythe with James Windeler

The Man from the Moon – Gemma Crofts

Butterflies – Jenny Hicks

Living Metal – C.S. McMullen

The Spy – Andrew Slattery



The Brooch – Elizabeth Dias

5 Moons of Pluto – Bradford Walton